African Writing Award

It can be difficult for writers, before they become established, to write while simultaneously earning a living. To help meet this need the MMF awards annually a small number of Morland Writing Scholarships, with the aim being to allow each Scholar the time to produce the first draft of a completed book. The Scholarships are open to anyone writing in the English language who was born in Africa or both of whose parents were born in Africa.

Grant: Scholars writing fiction will receive a grant of £18,000, paid monthly over the course of twelve months. At the discretion of the Foundation, Scholars writing non-fiction may receive a grant of up to £27,000, paid over a period of up to eighteen months.

Applications will be accepted between 30th June and 31st October 2016. We will acknowledge receipt but, unless we have a query, you won't hear from us again unless you reach the shortlist. The awards will be announced in early December.

Scholarship Requirement: The only condition imposed on the Scholars during the year of their Scholarship is that they must write. They will be asked to submit by e-mail at least 10,000 new words every month until they have finished their book or their Scholarship term has ended. If the first draft of the book is completed before the year is up, payments will continue while the Scholar edits and refines their work.

Proposed Work: The candidates should submit a description of between 400 - 1,000 words of the work they intend to write. The proposal must be for a full length book of no fewer than 80,000 words. The MMF does not accept proposals for collaborative writing or short story collections. The proposal should be for a completely new work, not a work in progress, and must be in English.

More details. FAQs.

244 Hits

African Climate Change and Environmental Reporting Award

African Climate Change and Environmental Reporting Awards (hereafter ACCER Awards) is Africa's premier environmental and climate change reporting program, run and founded by the Pan African Climate Justice Alliance (PACJA) in 2013.

Over a period of 7 weeks, (8th March – 26th April 2016) journalists and other media practitioners from across Africa submit entries which demonstrate how their work has practically enhanced access to environmental information, built Climate Change resilience or changed the way societies "do business." After the online submission process finalists will be announced at the sidelines of the United Nations Environmental Assembly (23rd – 27th May) and enrolled in an intensive training program, the ACCER Awards Finalists Academy (TAAFA).

More information.

232 Hits

2016 UN Momentum for Change Awards

Applications are being accepted from 19 February to 25 April. Spearheaded by the United Nations Climate Change Secretariat, Momentum for Change shines a light on the most innovative, scalable and replicable examples of what people around the world are doing to tackle climate change.

Who: Organizations, communities, cities, businesses, governments and others that are taking concrete action on climate change can apply to have their projects recognized as a 2016 Lighthouse Activity.

Why: If your project is selected as a winning activity, you will receive a wide range of benefits, including fully covered attendance to the 2016 UN Climate Change Conference in Marrakech, Morocco; access to policy makers and potential funders during the conference; public recognition by the UN Climate Change secretariat; public relations support and media training; high-quality promotional videos and podcasts; a dedicated page about your project on our website; and graphic assets such as infographics and professional photography.

277 Hits

Global Affairs Canada: Graduate Student Policy Challenge

Attention graduate students in Canada


Global Affairs Canada has announced the inaugural International Policy Ideas Challenge, designed to identify concrete innovative solutions to emerging international policy challenges by drawing on the network of talented graduate students and post-doctoral fellows in Canada.


The top 10 entries will be invited to pitch their proposal virtually to a jury. Three winning entries will receive $1,000 each, plus an additional $2,000 to finalize and present their idea to policy officials in Ottawa.


Ideas should be linked to the following research priorities, but proposals related to other emerging issues and trends affecting Canadian international policy will be considered:

  • Strengthening Canada's relations with North American partners, particularly the United States;
  • Adopting a North American approach to climate change and clean energy;
  • Reenergizing Canadian diplomacy and leadership in managing complex international crises;
  • Partnering with non-state actors in addressing global governance challenges; and
  • Making better use of data and technology in the development of international policy.
348 Hits

Logan Cochrane

LinkedIn Profile  Academia Profile